Magickal Chakra Correspondences

You are currently viewing Magickal Chakra Correspondences

The chakras serve as a linking mechanism between the physical body and the subtle bodies.  Teaching about the chakras can be found in many different spiritual traditions.  Each tradition has similarities and differences.  Within Tibetan Buddhism, teachings of the chakras are heavily integrated into medical practice. 

Basic Chakra Associations 

Sahasrara (Crown) Chakra- Endocrine Gland (Pituitary gland), Color (Violet)

Ajna (Brow) Chakra – Endocrine Gland (Pineal gland), Color (Indigo)

Visuddhi (Throat) Chakra- Endocrine Gland (thyroid and parathyroid glands), Color (Blue)

Anahata (Heart) Chakra- Endocrine Gland (Thymus), Color (Green)

Manipura (Solar Plexus) Chakra- Endocrine Gland (Adrenal glands), Color (Yellow)

Svadisthana (Sacral) Chakra- Endocrine Gland (Pancreas), Color (Orange)

Muladhara (Base) Chakra- Endocrine Gland (Testes or ovaries), Color (Red)

Petals, Yantras, and Element Chakra Correspondences

The chakras also have corresponding geometric shapes, known as yantras.  Chakra petals correspond to the number that represents the vibratory rate of each chakra.  These petals also correspond to their own color.  Finally, the chakras correspond with the elements.

Sahasrara (Crown) Chakra- This chakra does not have any specific number of petals, nor does it have a corresponding yantra or element assigned.

Ajna (Brow) Chakra- 2 White petals, no yantra or element.

Visuddhi (Throat) Chakra- 16 Red petals, Yanta (White Circle), Element (Akasha).

Anahata (Heart) Chakra- 12 Vermilion colored petals, Yantra (Smokey-green hexagon), Element (Air).

Manipura (Solar Plexus) Chakra- 10 Blue colored petals, Yantra (Red triangle), Element (Fire).

Svadisthana (Sacral) Chakra- 6 Lightening colored petals, Yantra (White crescent Moon), Element (Water).

Muladhara (Base) Chakra- 4 Gold colored petals, Yantra (Yellow square), Element (Earth).

Chakra and Deity Correspondences

These wider ranging chakra correspondences come from the book, Chakras, by  Naomi Ozaniec, a practitioner of magic in the Western tradition.  Here are the chakras’ corresponding deities.

Sahasrara (Crown) Chakra- Deities: Shiva

Ajna (Brow) Chakra- Deities: Sakti Hakini holding a book, drum or staff with a skull or rosary.

Visuddhii (Throat) Chakra- Deities: Sadasiva holding a noose, goad, serpent, trident, fire weapon, vajra (thunderbolt), sword, battle axe or bell; Gauri holding a noose, goad, arrow, or bow.

Anahata (Heart) Chakra- Deities: Isa holding nothing; Kakini holding a noose or skull

Manipura (Solar Plexus) Chakra- Deities: Rudra holding a rosary or fire weapon; Lakiini holding thunderbolt or fire weapon.

Svadisthana (Sacral) Chakra- Deities: Vishnu holding a conch shell, disc, war club or lotus; Rakini holding a trident, lotus, drum, or battleax.

Muladhara (Base) Chakra- Deities: Brahma holding a staff, gourd, or rosary; Dakini holding a spear, staff with a skull atop, sword or cup.

Interior Star Associations

According to the researchers at the Polaris Fellowship, the chakra energy centers are also associated with seven planets and seven alchemical metals.  This combination of the planets and metals makes up the concept of the “seven interior alchemical stars”.

Crown Chakra- Planet (Mercury), Element (Mercury)

Brow Chakra- Planet (The Moon), Element (Silver)

Throat Chakra- Planet (Venus), Element (Copper)

Heart Chakra- Planet (The Sun), Element (Gold)

Solar Plexus Chakra- Planet (Jupiter), Element (Tin)

Sacral Chakra- Planet (Mars), Element (Iron)

Base Chakra- Planet (Saturn), Element (Lead)

Leave a Reply